Credit Union SA is the proud Platinum Sponsor for the 2022 Public Education Awards and sponsor of the Credit Union SA Primary Teacher of the Year Award.

The awards recognise the achievements of teachers, leaders, allied health, support and corporate staff across the state.

The Public Education Awards were established in 2011 to showcase excellence in the public education system.

Entries have now closed.

If you’re selected as a finalist, you’ll be notified by Friday 26 August.

The 2022 Public Education Awards will be held on the evening of Friday 4 November at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

An educator’s influence continues beyond the classroom and supports children and young people to reach their full potential in life.

We all remember a teacher who inspired and motivated us to enjoy learning, and the awards honour the dedication and passion of individuals who deliver the best possible outcomes for young people and their families.

The awards recognise and showcase excellence in public education. Through this program the Department for Education South Australia proudly share their achievements with the community and highlight the innovation, passion and expertise that form the foundation the strong public education system.

2021 Finalists

Having the education of children and young people at the heart of everything they do, the long list of finalists for the 2021 Public Education Awards showcases the diversity and strength of the South Australian workforce at its best.

Spread across a range of categories, the 33 finalists are all high performing professionals in their field, driving South Australia towards its goal of becoming one of the best education systems in the world. Their achievements range from creating specialised programs supporting localised student needs to successfully implementing and leading key measures for system-wide improvement.

Find out more about the 2021 finalists on the Department for Education SA's website.

Finalists and winners will be awarded grants to undertake professional learning or activities.

Winners of each category receive $10,000 and 2 finalists for each category receive $2,000.

Winners will be announced an awards ceremony on Friday 5th November 2021.

  • Nicole Chataway, Yalata Anangu School
  • Jessie Plisko, Willsden Primary School
  • Liana McCurry, Ardtornish Primary School
  • Dina Zunis, North Ingle School
  • Gael Little, East Torrens Primary School
  • Julie Murphy, Elizabeth Vale Primary School
  • Coralie Dixon, Barmera Kindergarten
  • Ashley Gregory, Flinders Children’s Centre and Tji Tji Wiltja Preschool
  • Deborah Walsh, Paradise Kindergarten
  • Jessica Daniel, Balaklava High School
  • Kirsten Mooney, Mount Barker Primary
  • Ali McLarty, Adelaide Botanic High School
  • Jo Hann, Hackham West Children’s Centre
  • Urumbula Program, John Pirie Secondary School
  • Aboriginal Education, Paralowie R-12 School
  • Reconciliation in Action, Port Elliot Kindergarten
  • Karena Wilson, Crystal Brook Kindergarten
  • Celeste Raymond, Melaleuca Park Primary School
  • Margie Colton, Bertram Hawker Kindergarten
  • Sally Wuttke, Nuriootpa Community Children’s Centre
  • Jane Moore, Aldinga Beach Children’s Centre
  • Nikola Haskell, The Grove Education Centre
  • Ruth Mussger, Murray Bridge High School
  • Heather Makris, Birdwood High School
  • Sue Pratt, Balaklava High School
  • Faith Brohier, Brighton Secondary School
  • Jodi Long, Renmark High School
  • Entrepreneurial Teaching Team, Grant High School
  • Enhanced Learning Hub, Balaklava High School
  • Centre of Deaf Education Team, Avenues College
  • Curriculum Resources, Curriculum and Learning
  • Perspective, People and Culture
  • Phonics Screening Check, Curriculum and Learning

Previous award winners

2019 Award Recipients

Exclusively for Educators