Skip to content

SA Excellence in Public Education Awards

The SA Excellence in Public Education Awards recognise and reward the outstanding contributions made by educators across the state from any one of DECD's schools, preschools, or children's centres.

Nominees receive a certificate of appreciation and they could win a professional learning activity of their choice (up to the value of $10,000 for most categories).

Credit Union SA is proud to be a Platinum Sponsor of this year's awards and in particular the Primary Teaching category.

Congratulations to this year's Awards winners!

Credit Union SA primary teaching 

  • Cassandra Young, from Mount Barker South Primary School

  • Charlene McGrath, from Aberfoyle Hub R-7 School


  • Dean Angus, from Kadina Memorial School

  • Dan Jarrad, from Elizabeth Grove Primary School

  • Leila Kasprzak, from Mount Compass Area School

Winners are able to attend 1 of 2 Harvard Graduate School of Education short courses.

Secondary teaching

  • Megan Hooper, from Mimili  Anangu School

  • Naomi Kuchel, from Thebarton Senior College

Early years teaching 

  • Tarsha Howard, from Craigmore Kindergarten

  • Joanne Tilley, from Port Lincoln Junior Primary School

Winners receive a professional learning activity of their choice, valued up to $10,000.

Support staff

  • Pauline Bolto, from Littlehampton Primary School

  • Karley Anderson, from Riverland Special School

Winners receive a professional learning activity of their choice, valued up to $10,000.

Lifetime achievement

Rosalie Richards, from Pipalyatjara Anangu School

Rosalie is a natural educator. Her classroom is a highly interactive and dynamic learning environment catering for all students. She quickly establishes a rapport with children and develops their trust. She is highly valued by her colleagues, community and students. She is an educator who puts children in the centre of everything she does.

Partnership innovation

Western Adelaide Shores Partnership

Western Adelaide Shores Partnership schools and preschools work collaboratively to improve student achievement and engagement by negotiating and co-constructing curriculum that is personalised and connected.

The program will improve achievement by stretching the intellectual and emotional engagement of students, which will be measured by the effective use of data. A teach on team approach will be introduced which will allow for more interaction between teachers and students on how they approach teaching and learning methods and environments.  Data will be collected at the beginning and end of the trial and following this the teams will come together to discuss and analyse how students and teachers had responded to the method of teaching and learning.

The winners were announced at the awards ceremony on Friday 14 October 2016.

For more information, visit

To read more about two of the talented 2015 DECD Excellence Award winners and what being recognised for their hard work has meant to meant to Ryan and Martine. 


Supporting Education

Originally established by SA teachers nearly 60 years ago, we’ve been providing banking services to education workers ever since.

We provide fundraising opportunities for schools - without them having to donate time or money.

Follow Teachers of SA on Facebook to connect with the SA Education community and discover news and resources.

These Awards recognise and reward the outstanding contributions made by educators across the state.

Exclusively for Educators

We support education community employees who are preparing the next generation. With Education Community Banking Benefits you earn rewards for your hard work.

Take advantage of our exclusive Education Community Credit Card as a member of the Australian education community.

Take advantage of our exclusive Education Community Car Loan as a member of the Australian education community.

Let's Chat